State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center Open in Craven County

RALEIGH, N.C. – The State of North Carolina and FEMA opened a Disaster Recovery Center in the city of New Bern located in Craven County. Other centers will be opening soon in the affected areas.

The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in the counties included in the North Carolina federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Florence and the subsequent floods.

Recovery specialists from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other interests will be at the centers to talk about assistance and to help anyone who needs guidance in filing an application. The new center is at this location:

Former Eckerd Drugstore

710 Degraffenreid Ave.

New Bern, NC 28560

Hours: Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET

Sunday 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. ET

The SBA disaster assistance employees are committed to helping businesses and residents rebuild as quickly as possible. They are available to answer questions about SBA’s low-interest disaster loan program and help business owners and residents apply to SBA.

The centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology equipment allowing disaster survivors to use amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices for people with hearing loss, and magnifiers for people with vision loss. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

Homeowners, renters and businesses should register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center by:

The following information is helpful when registering:

  • Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address).
  • Current mailing address.
  • Current telephone number.
  • Insurance information.
  • Total household annual income.
  • Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows direct transfer of funds into a bank account).
  • A description of disaster-caused damage and losses.

Disaster survivors can visit any of the centers for assistance. Visit www.fema.gov/DRC to view other locations.

North Carolina homeowners, renters and business owners in Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Wayne and Wilson counties may apply for federal disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Florence.

Leave a Reply